Home > Services & Products > Medical Professional Portal
Medical Professional Portal

The current mainstream clinical prenatal examinations employ invasive sampling approaches to extract the fetal genetic material, including the commonlu used Amniocentesis and Chorionic Villi Sampling(CVS) (Fig.1). This is followed by immunohistochemistry, PCR, Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization(FISH) or other methods for the analysis on the tiny amount of genetic material obtained. Themajor downside of this approach is the significant increased rate of miscarriage. For instance, in a published study consisting of 4606 cases, the risk of miscarriage was significantly increased by 1% after using amniocentesis compared with controls.


Fig. 1:Existing method of prenatal diagnosis
AmniocentesisUltrasonic examinationChorionic Villi Sampling
invasiveinsensitiveinvasive


Therefore the pregnant women often end up in a dilemma of whether taking these invasive examining approaches or not. Non-invasive approach is an inevitable trend for future prenatal diagnosis. Another major problem of the invasive testing approaches lies in the low sensitivity and accuracy, requiring a large quantity of genetic material from the fetus to perform various tests before reaching the final diagnosis.


There exist two sources of non-invasive fetal genetic material, including cell-free fetal DNA(cffDNA) and nucleated red blood cell (NRBC) circulating in the mother’s blood (Fig.2).


Fig. 2:Non-invasive fetal genetic material in mother’s blood


The current commercialized non-invasive prenatal examinations rely on cffDNA to perform tests on a few genetic diseases, especially on chromosome diseases (e.g. Down Syndrome, an additional copy of Chromosome 21) after limited sequencing or PCR amplification. However, the majority of cffDNA originated from the mother, with only a limited amount from the fetus (3.4% ~ 6.2%) existing as short and incomplete DNA segments. Therefore, such fetal DNA source can only provide very limited genetic information of the fetus. In addition, the accuracy of the final diagnosis can be unreliable due to the uncertainty of existing algorithm. For example, in a pilot study consisting of 753 cases with Down Syndrome possibility, only 79.1% of them were identified by the cffDNA-based approach. Finally, in order to obtain more genetic information from cffDNA, the cost and complexity of the testing will increase dramatically, not to mention the needs of the genetic information from both parents, which seems impractical at the current stage.

In order to gain the full genetic information of the fetus using a non-invasive sampling approach, the only feasible approach is to isolate fetal cells in completeness from the maternal blood. Hence we have been committed to develop a non-invasive technique isolating free fetal cells and their molecular diagnosis.

At present, we have already established groundbreaking method for the isolation of nucleated fetal cell. We are able to isolate fetal cell from 10~20cc maternal blood at a stage as early as 10 to 12 weeks of pregnancy. Due to the limited quantity of cells (10 to 100), we have further developed a customized whole-genome and trancriptome sequencing technologies that can capture the complete genetic information of the fetus from under 10 cells, and the sequencing results can be used for downstream clinical diagnosis. In contrast to other current non-invasive prenatal diagnosis approaches focusing on a few chromosome diseases, 3500 genetic mutations associated with genetic disorders can be tested using our product, providing the latest, the most accurate and the most comprehensive prenatal testing based on our own bioinformatics platform.



百世嘉,提供最先进和最准确的无创产前检测服务,为婴儿健康保驾护航。

首页 > 服务产品 > 专家入口
专家入口

中国现行已经临床应用的母婴遗传检测均采取侵入性的取样方法来获取婴儿遗传物质,包括常见的羊膜穿刺术以及绒毛取样术(图一)。继而用传统的免疫组化,PCR,染色体荧光染色等方法,对于极少量的遗传疾病进行检测。而这些方法最大的弊端就是显著提高了流产几率。例如在一个涵盖4606例羊膜穿刺的样本中,与对照组相比,流产率显著提高了1%。


图一:现有产前诊断方法
羊膜穿刺术超声检测绒毛取样
侵入性不敏感侵入性


因此孕妇们在选择是否采用这些侵入性检测方法的时候往往处于两难的境地,而开发非侵入性取样检测方法将会是未来母婴诊断的必然趋势。而另一大问题在于灵敏度,准确度较低,因此往往需要大量的胎儿遗传物质进行反复检测才能得到最后的诊断结果。


目前已知的非侵入性婴儿遗传物质(DNA)的来源有两种:母体外周血中胎儿游离DNA(cell-free fetal DNA, cffDNA)以及母体血液中游离的胎儿细胞,主要为胎儿有核红细胞(nucleated red blood cell, NRBC)(图二)。


图二:母血中含有的非侵入性婴儿遗传物质


现存商品化的非侵入性产检主要依赖于游离的胎儿DNA(cffDNA),利用少量测序以及PCR等方法,对于极少量遗传疾病,特别是染色体多倍体疾病(例如21号染色体三倍体,即唐氏综合症)进行检测。然而由于游离DNA绝大多数来自于孕妇自身,来自胎儿的游离DNA含量极低(3.4%~6.2%),而且均是以不完整的短DNA片段的形式存在,因此基于这种来源的诊断技术只能得到很有限的胎儿遗传信息,而非全部胎儿的遗传信息(即全基因组的信息),加上统计算法的不确定性,其最终结果的准确度也会大打折扣。例如一项涉及753个唐氏综合症高危产妇人群的测试中,采用cffDNA进行的产检仅能检测出79.1%以上的实际病例。而如果要从cffDNA中得到更多的遗传信息,不仅需要天文数字的测序深度/费用,更需要父母本身基因组信息加以辅助,实际应用前景渺茫。

为了采用非侵入性的取样方式,获得胎儿更多的甚至所有遗传信息并且用于孕产检,唯一的途径就是从母血中分离完整的游离胎儿细胞。因此我们一直致力于开发非侵入性游离胎儿细胞的分离,以及基于胎儿细胞的诊断技术。如今我们已经成功研发了一种游离胎儿细胞分离技术。早在孕妇怀孕10~12周,即可从20cc外周血中分离出足够的胎儿细胞进行检测。由于所得细胞数量较少(10~100个),我们更进一步开发了世界领先的单细胞全基因组,转录组测序技术,可以从单一胎儿细胞中得到完整的胎儿遗传信息,并应用于下游诊断分析中去。而与现存非侵入性产检产品仅仅局限于几种染色体疾病相比,我们将从胎儿全基因组信息中挖掘与已知3500种遗传疾病相关联的遗传变异,通过我们自主开发的数据平台为广大家庭提供,最安全,最准确,最全面的新一代无害产检服务。



百世嘉,提供最先进和最准确的无创产前检测服务,为婴儿健康保驾护航。